Questions have been raised about Rohit Sharma batting in the second super over.Image Credit source: BCCI
Hardly anyone would have imagined even in their dreams that the last match of the bilateral series between India and Afghanistan would reach this level. The last match of that series, which was decided in the first two matches, will witness a double super over for the first time in international cricket. This history was made at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, where India and Afghanistan presented a spectacular T20 cricket match. Team India finally won this match but along with it a controversy also arose – was Afghanistan cheated? Should Rohit Sharma have got a chance to bat in the second super over?
In this match played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Wednesday, 17 January, India batted first and scored 212 runs. Rohit Sharma scored his 5th century. Afghanistan also gave a strong reply and tied the score on the last ball. After this the match went into super over. Here Afghanistan batted first and scored 16 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal came to bat with Rohit for Team India. What happened after this is the reason for the uproar.
What happened in the super over?
Rohit and Yashasvi batted together for 5 balls of the super over and scored 15 runs. India needed 2 runs on the last ball. In such a situation, Rohit, who was on non-strike, suddenly decided to retire and Rinku Singh was called. Rohit probably did this so that the more fit Rinku could run 2 runs. However, this did not happen and Jaiswal-Rinku could take only 1 run. In this way the super over also became tied.
Now according to the rules, there was to be another super over and this time Team India had to bat first. This time Rinku Singh came to bat for India but again Rohit Sharma came with him. Rohit scored 11 runs in 3 balls but India lost 2 wickets in the next 2 balls. After this, Ravi Bishnoi took 2 wickets for just 1 run and Team India won the match. The Indian team won the match but the question arose as to why Rohit Sharma got to bat again?
What are the rules for retirement?
In fact, according to the rules of cricket, if any batsman is ill or injured, he can retire in the middle of the innings. The batsman is considered ‘retired hurt’. Then if he wants, he can come to bat again. But if the other batsman himself leaves the innings midway without any injury or illness, then he is not allowed to bat again. If he has to do so, it can be done only with the consent of the opposition captain, otherwise he is considered retired out.
Is batting available again in Super Over?
As far as the rules of Super Over are concerned, it is clear that if a batsman is out in a Super Over, then he cannot bat in the next Super Over. As after bowling in one Super Over, the same bowler cannot bowl in the next Super Over. As far as Rohit is concerned, Rohit neither suffered any injury nor was he ill in any way, due to which he was considered retired hurt and he could come out to bat again.
Rohit retired hurt or retired out
Now was he retired out? No information about this was given by the umpires. After the match, Team India coach Rahul Dravid definitely said that Rohit had retired out and by doing so he adopted Ashwin’s style. Now if coach Dravid is saying that Rohit was retired out then why was he sent again to bat? This is clearly a violation of the laws of cricket.
Did Team India talk to the Afghanistan captain about this? Nothing like this was seen on TV, and Afghanistan coach Jonathan Trott, in response to a question on this matter in the press conference after the match, denied any such information.
In such a situation, the question arises on the umpires that how did they make such a big mistake? Did the umpires also not know about the rules and playing conditions? If he was unaware of this then it raises questions on his competence. Whatever may be the reason in the end, it seems that Afghanistan was cheated.