Former Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews became the first batsman to be given time out.Image Credit source: PTI
The World Cup 2023, which was going on without any major controversy till now, finally got a big uproar. During the match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in Delhi, a batsman was given out in a way that no one would have expected. Such an out, which has never been seen before in the history of the World Cup. Sri Lankan batsman Angelo Mathews had just reached the field but he had to return to the pavilion because he was not fully prepared when he reached the crease. The effect of which was that he was given time out. For the first time in cricket, a batsman was given out in this manner.
All eyes were on the match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka on Monday 6 November in New Delhi. Due to the pollution spread in Delhi, everyone wanted to see whether the match would take place or not. Well, the match happened but what was seen after that surprised everyone. The Sri Lankan team, batting first, lost the fourth wicket in the 25th over. Got the wicket of Sadira Samarawickrama on the second ball of Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan. Then experienced batsman Angelo Mathews came to the crease and the chaos started.
Chaos over helmet, Mathews becomes victim
As soon as Mathews reached to take the strike, he started adjusting his helmet. While he was doing this, the strap of his helmet broke. Now he could not start the innings without a proper helmet. So he immediately took off his helmet, pointed towards the team dressing room and asked for another helmet. By the time the Sri Lankan team player brought the second helmet, Bangladeshi captain Shakib Al Hasan appealed to the umpire. The appeal was – time out.
— Ankur Jain 🇮🇳 (@aankjain) November 6, 2023
After some discussion, the umpire instructed Mathews to go back because he was time out. Mathews presented his side to the umpire that his helmet strap had broken and that is why such a situation occurred. He went to the Bangladeshi team and said the same to their captain Shakib but Shakib did not withdraw his appeal. The result was that Mathews had to return. Apparently he was angry and threw his helmet and bat while crossing the boundary.
What do the rules say?
In fact, according to the playing conditions of the World Cup, after any batsman is out or retires, the next batsman has to reach the crease within 2 minutes and be ready to face the bowler. If this does not happen, then on the appeal of the fielding team the umpire can give it ‘time out’.
Mathews had reached within 2 minutes but due to the helmet this time crossed 2 minutes and as per the rules he was given out. In this way, for the first time in the 146 year history of cricket, a batsman has been timed out. There are a total of 11 ways in which a dismissal can be made in cricket and with the wicket of Mathews, all 11 ways have been used.