IND vs ENG 2nd Test: The entire team including captain Rohit Sharma was surprised, even the commentators could not understand why this not out was given.
India has won the second test by 106 runs, the five-match series is leveled at 1-1. There was a controversy regarding DRS during England’s batting today. The umpire had given out on this, Ashwin, the bowler, had already celebrated his 500th wicket but the batsman took the review.
After watching the LBW, it was found that there was an umpire’s call on the pitching line and heating, in such a situation the third umpire should have given out because the umpire on the field had given out. But the opposite happened and the third umpire asked the on-field umpire to change his decision and call it not out. The entire team including captain Rohit Sharma was shocked, even the commentators could not understand anything.
Know in details what happened
In the 63rd over bowled by R Ashwin, Tom Hartley wanted to play reverse sweep, the ball bounced on his hand and was caught. When there was an appeal, the umpire declared him out, but the batsman took the review. The ball did not hit his gloves, which was clearly visible on the screen. The ball hit the hand so it was not out but the third umpire then checked it for LBW.
In LBW, it was shown that there was pitching line and heating umpire’s call, and on this basis, out should have been given because on umpire’s call, only the decision given by the on-field umpire is decisive and here the umpire had given out. But the third umpire asked the on-field umpire to change the decision and give him out. Rohit argued with the umpire for a long time, it was confirmed for the second time and even then Hartley was given not out.
IND vs ENG 2nd Test: Why was Hartley not given out?
The reason for this could be that the on-field umpire gave it out because the appeal was caught. The Indian team also did not appeal for LBW but instead appealed for catch. Therefore, only the catch was considered in the review, whereas there were two umpire calls in LBW also. However, even the former cricketers doing commentary did not know the exact reason for this.