Is it right or wrong for Dhoni to argue with the umpire for 4 minutes? (Photo: IPL)
New Delhi: 14 seasons, 12 playoffs and 10th time final ticket. This much is enough to tell the success story of Mahendra Singh Dhoni and his team Chennai Super Kings in IPL. Now where there is success, some controversies do arise. Something similar is with CSK and MSD as well. And, the latest controversy erupted in the first qualifier when Dhoni was seen arguing with the umpire.
You might not like Dhoni’s argument with the umpire in the middle of the match. But, Dhoni does not do anything unnecessarily. Come on, if there was a debate then why did it last only for 4 minutes. So there is a rule of cricket regarding this, which Dhoni seems to have understood very well.
Read more: What did Dhoni say that CSK can become champions again?
What happened in the 16th over of Gujarat’s innings?
The first qualifier of IPL 2023 was played on the evening of 23 May at Chennai ground, in which Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans were face to face. But, the incident that Dhoni had with the umpire was in the 16th over of Gujarat’s innings in the match.
It happened that Dhoni wanted to get the 16th over of Gujarat’s innings done by his fast bowler Mathisha Pathirana. But, the on-field umpire refused him to do so. Dhoni started discussing this with the square leg umpire. Two-three of his teammates joined in this. The game stopped and this obstruction remained till CSK’s work was done.
Why couldn’t Dhoni make Pathirana bowl?
The question is, if Dhoni wanted to bowl to Pathirana, then why did the umpire stop him? So that is because before that Pathirana was not on the ground. Now when he was not on the ground then how can he bowl straight? The rules of cricket do not allow this and for this reason the umpires were also refusing.
What are the rules of cricket?
What are the rules of cricket? According to the rules, as long as the bowler remains on the break, he can bowl again only after spending the same amount of time on the field. By the time the argument between the CSK captain and the umpire went on, Pathirana’s time on the field was completed as long as he was out. Meaning he could now bowl again, which he did.
Also read: Which pitch created a ruckus after CSK’s win?