Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis raised questions on the umpire’s decision (Photo: PTI)
India’s capital Delhi became witness to a very fierce battle on 6 November. What happened in this match happened for the first time not only in the history of the World Cup but in the entire history of cricket. For the first time a batsman was timed out. The batsman who got time out for the first time in the history of cricket was Angelo Mathews. However, there were many ifs and buts regarding this decision. But, when in the end the decision went against Mathews, he got furious. And, the spark that flared up from here continued throughout the match. While the blame game was going on after the match, Angelo Mathews and Kusal Mendis did something, after which action can now be taken against them.
The question is whether Sri Lankan captain Kusal Mendis and Angelo Mathews did this? So whatever he did, whether it was right or wrong, as a player he should not have taken that decision. Is that cricket against the rules of any other game? And, this is the reason why action can be taken against them.
Read here: How did Angelo Mathews get angry at Shakib Al Hasan?
Angelo called the fourth umpire’s decision wrong
Angelo Mathews and Kusal Mendis actually targeted the umpire after the match. Both of them not only raised questions on the decision of the fourth umpire but also called it wrong. On the decision to give time out, Mathews said that the fourth umpire has made a mistake here. In the video that has surfaced of that incident, it is clear that even after adjusting the helmet, I still had 5 seconds left. Will the fourth umpire get it right? All I want to say is that safety comes first and I could not have faced the bowler without a helmet.
4th umpire is wrong here! Video evidence shows I still had 5 more seconds even after the helmet gave away! Can the 4th umpire rectify this please? I mean safety is paramount as I just couldnt face the bowler without a helmet
— Angelo Mathews (@Angelo69Mathews) November 6, 2023
Mendis raised questions on umpire’s common sense
Taking forward the views of Mathews, Sri Lankan captain Kusal Mendis has raised questions on the common sense of the umpire. He said that I am angry with the umpire’s decision. I did not understand his common sense. What happened to Angelo Mathews’ helmet can happen to anyone. That happened due to the malfunction of one of their safety devices.
Let us tell you that during the match, Angelo Mathews was given time out when he was standing at the crease and adjusting the strap of his helmet. After the appeal of Bangladeshi captain Shakib Al Hasan, the umpire gave him out.
Action can be taken if you go against the umpire’s decision
However, Sri Lankan cricketers have now expressed their views on this. It is not wrong to do this. But, both of them raised questions on the umpire’s decision. Told him wrong. Due to common sense, action can be taken against the one who caught them. However, let us tell you that at present there is no such information.
Why did Shakib say that this match was a ‘war’?