By-elections are on for 7 assembly seats including 3 Lok Sabha, results will come on June 26


New Delhi: Voting is going on for by-elections to three Lok Sabha and 7 assembly seats today. By-elections are being held in 3 Lok Sabha seats, Sangrur in Punjab and 2 Rampur and Azamgarh seats in Uttar Pradesh. In the by-elections to be held on 7 assembly seats, voting is going on in 4 Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubraj of Tripura. Apart from this, votes are also being cast for by-elections in Delhi’s Rajendra Nagar, Jharkhand’s Mandari and Andhra Pradesh’s Atmakur assembly. The results of the by-polls will come on June 26.

Live Update…

Voting continues in Jharkhand’s Mander seat, enthusiasm among people

People voting in Delhi’s Rajendranagar

Talking about seven assembly seats in four states, Delhi’s Rajendra Nagar assembly seat fell vacant after AAP leader Raghav Chadha was recently elected as a Rajya Sabha member. At the same time, the by-election is being held after the cancellation of the membership of Bandhu Tirkey, who was a Congress MLA from Mandar assembly seat in Jharkhand. The bypoll is being held in Andhra Pradesh’s Atmakur assembly seat following the death of YSR Congress MLA. At the same time, BJP MLAs from Agartala, Bordowali Town and Soorma in Tripura had resigned while the CPI(M) MLA from Jubarajgar died after which by-polls are being held in these four seats.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the polling. By-elections are being held in Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha seats due to the resignation of Samajwadi Party supremo Akhilesh Yadav and SP leader Azam Khan. In Azamgarh, Samajwadi Party has fielded Dharmendra Yadav, BJP has fielded Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirhua and BSP has fielded Shah Alam alias Guddu Jamali. In Rampur Lok by-election, there is a direct contest between Ghanshyam Lodhi of BJP and Asim Raja of SP.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath appealed to the voters of Azamgarh and Rampur to vote vigorously in the Lok Sabha by-elections. He tweeted and wrote, “By-elections are to be held in Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituencies. All respected voters must go to vote for the victory of good governance and nationalism. Your one vote will make your area fear free and crime free. So, remember… vote first, then refreshments.

The Delhi Rajendranagar assembly seat fell vacant after Raghav Chadha became a Rajya Sabha MP. This time Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Durgesh Pathak. At the same time, BJP has given ticket to Rajesh Bhatia. On the other hand, Congress has fielded female candidate Prem Lata.

first published:June 23, 2022, 7:53 am

Share post: